Winter’s Lip Duo

With winter around the corner and the cooler weather finally coming into effect, I’ve found that I’ve been reaching for my lip scrub and lip

balm a lot more lately. I have very dry skin, and so naturally, my lips get very dry as well. Last winter was probably the absolute worst state that my lips have ever been in, and there are tons of possibilities as to why my lips ended up the way they did, but regardless of what the case might be, it’s important that we remind ourselves to not be negligent in taking good care of our lips. I know that once I became diligent with my lip care routine I found myself thankful and happy with the results. Please feel free to share some of your lip care secrets as well as any lip products you’re enjoying/loving this month.

LUSH’s Mint Julips ($9.95):

Mint Julips

This edible lip scrub –yes, I said edible – is organic and handmade, as each of the ingredients is ethically sourced. This means that LUSH knows exactly what ingredients are being used, where they come from, and how they’re made. LUSH fights against animal testing – so these lip scrubs can be enjoyed without the guilt. My personal favorite: Mint Julips. I absolutely love anything that’s mint-related because it smells delicious, and reminds me of my favorite dessert combination: chocolate and mint. Each of the lip scrubs contains castor sugar, which gently exfoliates and gets rid of dead skin while the jojoba oil keeps your lips feeling nourished and plump. If the smell of chocolate chip mint ice cream doesn’t float your boat, LUSH has Popcorn for the buttery-caramel and salty and sweet lovers as well as Bubblegumfor the sugary sweet-tooth fans.

Rosebud Perfume Co. Minted Rose Lip Balm ($7.00):

Smith's Minted Rose Lip Balm

It wasn’t until I watched Lauren Elizabeth’sYouTube video a few months back, where she swore off all other chap-sticks and lip balms upon using Rosebud Perfume Co.’s lip balm, that I couldn’t resist the pull anymore. Another awesome cruelty-free and gluten-free product, this lip balm has that perfect silky smooth texture and easily spreadable formula. Any of Rosebud Perfume Co.’s lip balms can be found at Sephora, Urban Outfitters, and Anthropologie stores ($7.00). They also have Rosebud Perfume Co.’s “Strawberry” lip balm ($7.00) and Rosebud Perfume Co.’s “Rosebud Salve”  ($6.00), which is a great lip balm for calming down irritation and soothing burns (all thanks to the main ingredient: rose). According to Sephora’s website, it’s great for your elbows, knees, and diaper rashes, too. Who knew?! I say the more the merrier!

On a side note:

Rosebud Salve in Tube

When traveling, especially during warmer and hotter months, I opt for Rosebud Perfume Co.’s lip balm ($6.00) in a tube as it’s more sanitary and a neater way to travel; not to mention, less of a mess as the oil will melt out of the tin – trust me, I know from experience.

Signature(3)

Photos Courtesy of LUSH Cosmetics & Sephora

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

